ISD Never Rests

When I was a peer-trainer I felt training was easy. Get with your Training Supe. generate a training plan and schedule someone to train. It wasn’t that easy but you get the picture and you can probably imagine the process wasn’t that difficult. Then I became a training certifier and the reponsibility was expanded to where my contribution to a teams development had an impact. As I became qualified to instruct training for a broader audience I had to learn some classroom techniques that would help in delivering my content. With all of this I had yet to experience the true process of instructional system design work. I do recall sitting down with some Training Managers and discussing the development process of some training we were about to embark on in creating some technical training classes.

It wasn’t until I started supporting the development of learning programs for advanced level technicians. I had to learn how to capture the need of the team first and then tie it to the company wants and needs. Our analysis was always driven by either business need, team performance, individual development or new hire. All this work was tracked using a talent management system (TEDS) which was a very dynamic performance support system. The more projects I worked on the more of the ISD process that I was being exposed to during the design and development phases.

Just like any other company that has a training department your job is to conduct training but not interrupt the daily operations of the organization. What I always hated was the fact that we truly didn’t perform evaluation like it was intended. Let me correct that we did evaluate but the correct steps to make it impactful were not followed. How is training to be effective if we don’t listen to our customers which are our students? I never understood that and I always hated getting that bubble feedback form at the end of class knowing that there would not be any follow up to the comments I made. Now that I have spent a few years fully supporting a Training Center as a opposed to a training team I am still learning about ISD and it’s many contributions to course development.

ISD is always questioned if courses don’t make the grade, its questioned if the feedback is poor, its questioned if the instructor designs bad material and so on. So when I say ISD never rests its because the dynamics in course development should always be new and improving. I say don’t be afraid to experiment with blended techniques and explore new technologies so that training and learning are engaging as well as transforming.

 

 

